Whaddup, NYC?

I moved to NYC at the end of a mild summer in 2014 with my husband, my SUV filled with crap, and a stomach filled with butterflies. Actually, maybe not butterflies. Bees. No, yellow jackets. I couldn’t eat for the first week that we were here because I was filled with so much anxiety over making this cross country move, leaving my friends, family, and my golden home state of California.

IMG_1135

Before I moved here someone asked me if I enjoy the smell of human piss, or angry people. “Because that’s about all NYC can offer you!” Well, cool. I’m glad my husband just accepted a PhD program in a giant truck stop bathroom stall. I was reminded to keep my purse close to me because I would most likely get pick-pocketed.  Oh, and I shouldn’t sit anywhere because BEDBUGS. And don’t even get him started on the weather! “6 months of heat and humidity, and 6 months of frigid cold.”

Ice cream trucks in NYC have soft serve! What what!

So, I prepared for the worst. I almost bought a fanny pack, guys. Except within two weeks I had already experienced some pretty amazing stuff. I saw a guy playing his guitar in the subway station, and 15 people joining him in song, some singing, some beat boxing, and some dancing. And they were all DAMN GOOD. I felt like I was in movie. All that was missing were the rats coming up from the subway depths doing a little rap about pizza and cockroaches.

IMG_1950

Remember that one time I was a nanny in NYC and I went to a 5 year old’s birthday party that was more extravagant than my wedding?

This city is electric. Every morning when I’m heading to work and I transfer at Times Square, I stare around in disbelief of the fluidity in which people move. We are all involved in this intricate dance as we shuffle to and from trains. We listen (fo’ free!) to some of the best singers and dancers just trying to earn a few bucks. You look confused? Someone will come up to you and ask if you need directions. You ask someone for directions? They will draw you a map and tell you the history of landmarks that you never even knew existed. Yes, New York City is bigger and richer than I thought. It has crowds that until moving here I had only ever witnessed at Disneyland. And, like Disneyland, you can buy churros on main streets!


Where else do people accept a shitty closet of an apartment for a chance to live in the city? Where else can you find ANY nationality of food at pretty much any time of the day? Or better yet, where can you get cheap alcohol delivered to your doorstep (if this is a thing elsewhere, it’s still better in NYC because it just is.) Yes, NYC has its downsides. But it has taught me independence, confidence, and an unbelievable respect for all races and communities globally. It has shaped me into the newest version of myself, and for the first time, I feel proud of who I’ve become. NYC will always have a bit of my heart, but every time I hear any Tupac song come on the radio you know damn straight I’m gonna turn it up (Sorry, Biggie).

IMG_2845

Oh, this is what that guy was talking about.

 

Leave a comment